An architect license that is not renewed within five years after its expiration date is canceled. A canceled license cannot be renewed, restored, reissued, or reinstated. The holder of a canceled license may apply for and obtain a new license by relicensure only if they pay all of the fees and meet all of the requirements for obtaining an original license.
The relicensure process requires, at a minimum, completion of a relicensure application, payment to the Board of both the evaluation fee ($100) and the examination fee ($100), and mandatory successful completion of the California Supplemental Examination (CSE).
How to Apply
- Complete an Application for Relicensure (PDF, 200K), attach a check for $100 made payable to the California Architects Board, and send it to 2420 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834
- Submit a statement indicating the reason(s) the license expired
- Surrender the original wall certificate and pocket license card OR provide a statement under penalty of perjury indicating why compliance is not possible
- Submit a project list* containing all projects worked on in the last 10 years OR a statement under penalty of perjury indicating that no California projects were worked on during the time the license was expired
*Note: The project list must include the following information:
- The name and address of the client
- Type of project
- Construction costs
- Date the project was started and completed
- All services provided by you.
A review will be conducted to determine eligibility for the CSE once the Board has received the above items. An application for the CSE is mailed only when a candidate is determined to be eligible. If you have any other questions about the relicensure process, please contact the Board.