The Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only. The California Architects Board is unable to guarantee the accuracy
of the translation. It is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool. Consult with a
professional translator for accuracy if relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.
§ 125.9System for Issuance of Citation to a Licensee
Except with respect to persons regulated under Chapter 11 (commencing with Section 7500), any board, bureau, or commission within the department, the board created
by the Chiropractic Initiative Act, and the Osteopathic Medical Board of California, may establish, by regulation, a system for the issuance to a licensee of a
citation which may contain an order of abatement or an order to pay an administrative fine assessed by the board, bureau, or commission where the licensee is in
violation of the applicable licensing act or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto.
The system shall contain the following provisions:
Citations shall be in writing and shall describe with particularity the nature of the violation, including specific reference to the provision of law determined
to have been violated.
Whenever appropriate, the citation shall contain an order of abatement fixing a reasonable time for abatement of the violation.
In no event shall the administrative fine assessed by the board, bureau, or commission exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each inspection or each
investigation made with respect to the violation, or five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each violation or count if the violation involves fraudulent billing
submitted to an insurance company, the Medi-Cal program, or Medicare. In assessing a fine, the board, bureau, or commission shall give due consideration to the
appropriateness of the amount of the fine with respect to factors such as the gravity of the violation, the good faith of the licensee, and the history of previous
A citation or fine assessment issued pursuant to a citation shall inform the licensee that if he or she desires a hearing to contest the finding of a violation,
that hearing shall be requested by written notice to the board, bureau, or commission within 30 days of the date of issuance of the citation or assessment. If a
hearing is not requested pursuant to this section, payment of any fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation charged. Hearings shall be held pursuant
to Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.
Failure of a licensee to pay a fine within 30 days of the date of assessment, unless the citation is being appealed, may result in disciplinary action being
taken by the board, bureau, or commission. Where a citation is not contested and a fine is not paid, the full amount of the assessed fine shall be added to the fee
for renewal of the license. A license shall not be renewed without payment of the renewal fee and fine.
The system may contain the following provisions:
A citation may be issued without the assessment of an administrative fine.
Assessment of administrative fines may be limited to only particular violations of the applicable licensing act.
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a fine is paid to satisfy an assessment based on the finding of a violation, payment of the fine shall be represented
as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure.
Administrative fines collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the special fund of the particular board, bureau, or commission.