The Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only. The California Architects Board is unable to guarantee the accuracy
of the translation. It is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool. Consult with a
professional translator for accuracy if relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.
§ 5536Practice Without License or Holding Self Out as Architect; Misdemeanor
It is a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or by imprisonment in a county
jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment, for any person who is not licensed to practice architecture under this chapter to practice
architecture in this state, to use any term confusingly similar to the word architect, to use the stamp of a licensed architect, as provided in
Section 5536.1, or to advertise or put out any sign, card, or other device that might indicate to the public that he or she is an architect,
that he or she is qualified to engage in the practice of architecture, or that he or she is an architectural designer.
It is a misdemeanor, punishable as specified in subdivision (a), for any person who is not licensed to practice architecture under this chapter to affix a stamp or
seal that bears the legend "State of California" or words or symbols that represent or imply that the person is so licensed by the state to prepare plans,
specifications, or instruments of service.
It is a misdemeanor, punishable as specified in subdivision (a), for any person to advertise or represent that he or she is a "registered building
designer" or is registered or otherwise licensed by the state as a building designer.