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CALIFORNIA ARCHITECTS BOARD
DISABILITY ACCESS CONTINUING EDUCATION

ORDER OF ADOPTION

Adopt a new Article 10 of Division 2 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations as follows:

Article 10. Continuing Education

Adopt Section 165 of Article 10 of Division 2 of Title 16 of the California Code of
Regulations as follows:

§ 165. Continuing education coursework regarding disability access requirements.

(a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the following meanings:

(1) “Certified access specialist” means a person who is certified pursuant to
Government Code section 4459.5.

(2) “Disability access requirement” means a provision, standard, or requlation under
state or federal law requiring compliance with standards for making new
construction and existing facilities accessible to persons with disabilities,
including, but not limited to, any provision of, or standard or requlation set forth
in, the following:

(A) Civil Code sections 51, 54, 54.1, and 55.

(B) Part 5.5 (commencing with section 19955) of the Health and Safety Code.

(C) California Building Code, section 1.9.1 and chapters 11A and 11B
of volume 1 of part 2 of title 24 of the California Code of Requlations.

(D) Titles Il and llI of the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (“ADA”)
(42 U.S.C. Sec. 12101 et seq.).

(E) Title Il of the ADA Standards for Accessible Design (state and local
government facilities), consisting of part 35.151 of title 28 of the Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR) and the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (36 CFR
part 1191, appendices B and D).

(F) Title 1Il of the ADA Standards for Accessible Design (public accommodations
and commercial facilities), consisting of subpart D (commencing with section




36.401) of part 36 of title 28 of the CFR and the ADA Accessibility Guidelines
(36 CFR part 1191, appendices B and D).

(b) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall complete five hours of continuing
education (CE) coursework on the subject of California and federal disability access
requirements that meet the criteria specified in this section during each two-year
license renewal period prior to the license expiration date, or, if the license is
delinquent, during the 24 months immediately preceding the date on which the
licensee submits the delinquent renewal application. The board shall consider CE
coursework incomplete and the licensee not in compliance with this section if, within
15 days of the board’s notice of audit and written request, the licensee does not
make available to the board the proof required by this section. For purposes of this
section “proof’ shall mean any of the following: ‘

(1) a certificate of completion described in subsection (h),

(2) attendance or course completion records from the course provider as described
in subsection (g), or,

(3) other records of completion that contain the information specified in Section
5600.05 of the code.

(c) The CE coursework shall have clear and identifiable learning objectives, systematic
presentation of material, and be presented by trainers or educators who meet the
qualifications in subsection (e).

(d) A provider shall only issue a certificate of completion to a participant who:

(1) completes an in-person or live webinar course, or

(2) takes a recorded course not presented live or presented by recorded webinar
and successfully passes a test of the participant’s knowledge and understanding
of the CE coursework at the end of the period of instruction (post-course test).
“Successfully passing” shall mean a minimum cumulative passing score of at
least seventy percent (70%).

(e) A provider must use trainers or educators who have knowledge and expertise in
disability access requirements and meet one of the following criteria:

(1) Be a certified access specialist or certified by another United States jurisdiction to
perform one or more of the services described in section 113 of title 21 of the
California Code of Regulations.

(2) Hold a certification from the International Code Council (“1CC”) National
Certification as one of the following:




(A) Commercial Building Inspector.

(B) Building Plans Examiner.

(C) Certified Building Official.

(D) Code Specialist.

(E) Accessibility I'nspector/PIans Examiner.

(3) Hold a certification from the ICC California Certification Program as one of the
following:

(A) California Commercial Building Inspector.

(B) California Building Plans Examiner.

(4) Hold a license or registration issued by a United States jurisdiction as an
architect or a professional, civil, or structural engineer.

(5) At least two years’ employment by a building department or other building code
enforcement agency of any state or local governmental jurisdiction as a plan
reviewer, plans examiner, building inspector, building or construction consultant
or construction inspector.

(6) At least three years’ employment as a disability access specialist conducting
assessment of facilities for specific needs of the disability community.

(f) An architect shall not certify completion of the CE requirement through self-teaching
or self-directed activities. Teaching, instructing, or presenting a course on disability
access requirements shall not qualify as credit for fulfillment of the CE requirement
of this section. '

(9) A provider shall maintain for at least three years from the date of course completion
records of participant attendance and course completion, including the information
specified in section 5600.05(b) of the code, for each CE participant.

(h) Within ten business days from the completion of the course, a provider shall issue a
certificate of completion to each participant, subject to the requirements in
subsection (d). The certificate of completion shall include the information specified
in section 5600.05(b) of the code.

(i) Upon written request by a licensee who is the subject of a CE audit, a provider shall
issue within ten days of the date of the request a copy of the records specified in
subsection (). It shall be the responsibility of a licensee to obtain those records
from the provider if they are requested by the board and make those records
available to the board. In addition, the licensee shall cooperate in the audit and



https://board.In
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investigation of the licensee’s compliance with this section, including taking all
steps required by the CE provider to authorize the release of information to the
Board, including signing any authorization or consent to release the licensee’s
records of completion or coursework to the Board.

(i) Alicensee not in compliance with this section shall remedy any deficiency of the
CE requirements of this section by completing the coursework prescribed by this

section for the prior renewal period during the current renewal period, in addition

to completing the CE coursework required in this section for the current renewal
period. Before the end of the current renewal period, the licensee shall provide the

board proof, as described in subsection (b),that the deficiency of CE credits has
been remedied as prescribed by this section.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 5526 and 5600.05, Busihess and Professions Code.
Reference: Sections 5578 and 5600.05, Business and Professions Code; Section
55.52, Civil Code.







Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		ccr_165_disability_access_approval.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 2



		Passed manually: 0



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 0



		Passed: 30



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Needs manual check		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Needs manual check		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Passed		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top



