California Architects Board

The California Architects Board (Board) was created in 1901 by the California Legislature to fulfill the mission of protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public through the regulation of the practice of architecture in California. It is one of numerous entities within the Department of Consumer Affairs responsible for consumer protection and the regulation of licensed professionals. The Board establishes regulations for examination and licensing of the profession of architecture in California, which today numbers over 21,000 licensed architects and approximately 10,000 candidates who are in the process of meeting examination and licensure requirements.

Quick Hits

Now Available - Latest Issue of the Board’s Newsletter

The latest issue of California Architects is available online.

California Architects Board
Appoints New Executive Officer

New Executive Officer has over 20 years state experience

Sacramento—The California Architects Board announces the appointment of Laura Zuniga as its new Executive Officer, effective August 1, 2018. Ms. Zuniga replaces former Executive Officer Doug McCauley, who served for 17 years. Mr. McCauley was appointed Chief Deputy Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development by Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. and commenced his new role in March.

Ms. Zuniga has over 20 years of state government experience. Most recently she was the Chief of Licensing and Examination with the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) where she was responsible for the development, organization, and management of the licensing and examination programs. During her time with the Board she was able to decrease processing times of worker’s compensation insurance certificates from six weeks to under two weeks, and the processing of new license applications from over eight weeks to less than three weeks. Prior to that role, Ms. Zuniga was the Chief of Legislative Affairs for the CSLB and has held similar positions for the former State and Consumer Services Agency (now Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency) and the Department of Consumer Affairs.

Ms. Zuniga received her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of California, Davis.


Connect With Us